I don’t know what’s worse about a breakup: the actual ending of a relationship or having to see that person everywhere, especially on the internet. And that’s where the real pain kicks in. After you change your status to ’single,’ you have to deal with hours of deleting photos and untagging yourself, as well as watching that person quickly become the biggest flirt on Facebook.
Luckily, Facebook just announced that they will help you manage how you prefer to interact with your old flames. Once you become officially single (by hitting the button, of course) the following tools will be available to you.
You will now be able to “see less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos. Now you control how much that jerk gets to invade your life.
And you also get to control how much they see about you.
They even decrease the torture by sorting through past posts so you don’t have to…but you still can, if you want to wallow in self pity for a while.
Now instead of hiding from your timeline to avoid your ex’s name, you can devote more energy to hating all of the happy couples throwing it in your face.